Sometimes things do not go as planned

STO_Cryst_1The thing about online gaming is that you are dependent on, for instance, the servers being online. (“Thank You Captain Obvious…” I hear you say) And true to form, as I was sitting down for some Final Fantasy XIV, the server basically stuck out his tongue and shut down.

Since waiting for servers to be back up isn’t any fun at all, I needed an alternative. After some browsing of games, my decision was made and I logged onto Star Trek Online. Thankfully the patch was small and I was shortly flying my shiny ship through space.

I hadn’t realised that there was another event going on, as I hadn’t logged on for a couple of weeks and had not followed the game too closely lately. It is basically a rerun of the Crystalline Entity event from earlier this year, just with a different one-time reward. Still, there’s no time like the present to rid the galaxy of monstrous snowflakes, right?

To be on the safe side, I chose the lower difficulty for the Task Force, and the Entity was soon reduced to crystal dust. And then I actually forgot to grab my loot… Well yeah. I blame Tribbles or something.

5 thoughts on “Sometimes things do not go as planned

  1. How hard is the CE nowadays? I remember him being a real pain, and so have never completed beating him. Was he reduced in difficulty or have any weird tricks now?

    • Depends on which version you compare it to. If you only know the original one, then yes, it has been changed pretty substantially.
      The normal difficulty is really easy to complete nowadays. Not too sure about the elite version, but it should still be easier than the original. Going to give it a try tonight.

  2. Server downtime sucks! Thankfully I haven’t run into nearly as much in FF14 since that first week. What server are you on?

Leave a Reply

